New Jersey Laws on Tobacco
The following page lists New Jersey laws regarding tobacco prohibition.
For more information on each of the bills, please click on the respective title and you will be taken to the page for the law/bill.
The page will continue to be updated as further laws are passed.
PERTAINING TO WORKPLACES/BUSINESSES
A2320: TASE (Tobacco Age of Sale Enforcement): Prohibits the sale of tobacco products to 21 years old.
Required Signage for Tobacco Retailers
- "Effective November 1, 2017, licensed merchants must post, as a condition of the license, a legible sign, at least 6 inches by 3 inches in size with bold letters at least one-quarter inch high, stating the following: 'New Jersey law states: A PERSON WHO SELLS OR OFFERS A TOBACCO PRODUCT TO A PERSON UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE SHALL PAY A PENALTY OF UP TO $1,000 AND MAY BE SUBJECT TO A LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION. PROOF OF AGE MAY BE REQUIRED FOR PURCHASE. -N.J. Stat. 54:40A-4.1'"
S3265: Prohibits sale or distribution of flavored vapor products.
S359: Raises minimum age for purchase and sale of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices from 19 to 21.
S1647: Prohibits use of coupons, price rebates, and price reduction promotions in sales of tobacco and vapor products.
A6020: Establishes requirements for certain tobacco product retailers to stock and sell nicotine replacement therapy products.
PERTAINING TO OUTDOOR RECREATION
PERTAINING TO SCHOOLS/INSTITUTES OF EDUCATION
PERTAINING TO MEDICAID/HEALTHCARE